The Haunted Bookstore

Narrow your search
Image of Ghost Stories (Hardy Boys)

Ghost Stories (Hardy Boys)

Aladdin
Show/hide full description or See full details
JOIN FRANK AND JOE...
On a deserted country road, where, a fiendish scarecrow walks and talks and stalks its victims!
On a stromy night at sea, where the Hardys' only hope of rescue is an l8th-century whaling ship piloted by a ghostly, crew!
In the dank, dark dungeon of a Scottish castle haunted by its first lord, a cruel and notorious pirate!
WHEREVER DANGER LEADS...
THE GHOST-HUNTING HARDY BOYS
ARE SURE TO FOLLOW!

Don't be alarmed, there is no such thing as a ghost -- or is there? Who knows what unseen powers lurk in the darkness? Frank and Joe are about to find out as they face some of their most challenging cases ever -- six startling journeys into the heart of mystery and fear...
Sold by Plus_deals: Usually ships in 3-4 business days
Image of Trucker Ghost Stories: And Other True Tales of Haunted Highways, Weird Encounters, and Legends of the Road

Trucker Ghost Stories: And Other True Tales of Haunted Highways, Weird Encounters, and Legends of the Road

Tor Books
Show/hide full description or See full details

In a uniquely entertaining book by a rising star, here are uncanny true tales of haunted highways, weird encounters, and legends of the road.

It may have happened to you; it's happened to almost everyone who's ever driven down a highway at night, or in the fog, or snow. Something suddenly appears: a flash of movement, a shadow...what was it? It could be, as the true stories in this book attest, a ghost.

These are true stories from the highways and byways of America. These firsthand accounts are as varied as the storytellers themselves―some are detailed and filled with the terror and suspense that made people feel they had to share what happened to them with others; others are brief and straightforward retellings of truly chilling events.

Here is a chupacabra attack on the desert highway between L.A. and Las Vegas; ghost trains and soldiers; UFOs; the prom girl ghost of Alabama; a demon in Texas, and other accounts of the creepy, scary things that truckers and other drivers and passengers told to editor Annie Wilder.

With so many different stories, Trucker Ghost Stories moves beyond the usual haunted house to offer stories to entice any ghost story reader...and anyone who's ever wondered....

Sold by tonynonybooks: Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Image of Algernon Blackwood: The Empty House and Other Ghost Stories

Algernon Blackwood: The Empty House and Other Ghost Stories

CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Show/hide full description or See full details
Curl up with a collection of mystery and horror tales from an author whom many critics regard as one of the masters of the genre. The Empty House and Other Ghost Stories showcases some of Algernon Blackwood's finest -- and most spine-tingling -- short fiction. Whether you're a longtime fan of Blackwood's work or a first-time reader who's curious about this giant of the genre, you're in for a deliciously spooky ride.
Sold by Amazon.com: Usually ships in 24 hours
Image of Ghost Stories

Ghost Stories

Sugar Skull Press
Show/hide full description or See full details

Ten ghostly tales of the Gilded Age from one of America's finest writers -- Edith Wharton (1862-1937), author of The Age of Innocence, winner of the 1920 Pulitzer Prize.

"Wharton's graceful sentences create dramatic, populous tableaux and peel back layer after layer of artifice and pretense, of what we say and how we wish to appear, revealing the hidden kernel of what human beings are like, alone and together." FRANCINE PROSE

"Despite all her privileges, despite her strenuous socializing, she remained an isolate and a misfit, which is to say, a born writer." JONATHAN FRANZEN

"...Wharton has as much to say to us now as she did to readers in the first half of the [twentieth] century. She is indisputably one of our finest writers." SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE

Sold by Amazon.com: Usually ships in 24 hours
Image of I Remember You: A Ghost Story

I Remember You: A Ghost Story

Minotaur Books
Show/hide full description or See full details

I Remember You won the Icelandic Crime Fiction Award and also was nominated for The Glass Key Award.

In this terrifying tale, three friends set to work renovating a rundown house in a remote, totally isolated location. But they soon realize they are not as alone as they thought. Something wants them to leave. Meanwhile, in a nearby town, a young doctor investigating the suicide of an elderly woman discovers that she was obsessed with his vanished son. When the two stories collide, the shocking truth becomes horribly clear.

In the vein of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist partly based on a true story, is the scariest novel yet from Yrsa Sigurdardóttir, who has captivated the attention of readers around the world with her mystery series featuring attorney Thora Gudmundsdottir. Now, Yrsa will stun readers once again with this out-of-this-world ghost story that will leave you shivering.

Sold by Jasonbookstore: Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Image of Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories (The Complete Ghost Stories of M. R. James, Vol. 1)

Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories (The Complete Ghost Stories of M. R. James, Vol. 1)

Penguin Classics
Show/hide full description or See full details
The only annotated edition of M. R. James’s writings currently available

Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories contains the entire first two volumes of James’s ghost stories, Ghost Stories of an Antiquary and More Ghost Stories of an Antiquary. These volumes are both the culmination of the nineteenth-century ghost story tradition and the inspiration for much of the best twentieth-century work in this genre. Included in this collection are such landmark tales as “Count Magnus,” set in the wilds of Sweden; “Number 13,” a distinctive tale about a haunted hotel room; “Casting the Runes,” a richly complex tale of sorcery that served as the basis for the classic horror film Curse of the Demon; and “Oh, Whistle, and I’ll Come to You, My Lad,” one of the most frightening tales in literature. The appendix includes several rare texts, including “A Night in King’s College Chapel,” James’s first known ghost story.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.
Sold by RAREWAVES-IMPORTS: Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Image of Ghostly Tales: Spine-Chilling Stories of the Victorian Age

Ghostly Tales: Spine-Chilling Stories of the Victorian Age

Chronicle Books
Show/hide full description or See full details
A vengeful phantom lurks in a country graveyard.
A whaling crew becomes trapped on a haunted ship.
A human skull is kept locked in a cupboard, but
sometimes at night, it screams. . . .


This collection of tales transports the reader to a time when staircases creaked in old manor houses, and a candle could be blown out by a gust of wind, or by a passing ghost. Penned by some of the greatest Victorian novelists and masters of the ghost story genre, each story is illustrated with exquisitely eerie artwork in this special gift edition featuring an embossed textured case and a ribbon marker.
Sold by booksXpress: Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Image of Ghosts of War: The True Story of a 19-Year-Old GI

Ghosts of War: The True Story of a 19-Year-Old GI

HarperTeen
Show/hide full description or See full details

In this extraordinary and harrowing memoir, follow one GI’s tour of duty as Ryan Smithson brings readers inside a world that few understand.

This is no ordinary teenager’s story. Instead of opting for college life, Ryan Smithson joined the Army Reserve when he was seventeen. Two years later, he was deployed to Iraq as an Army engineer.

His story—and the stories of thousands of other soldiers—is nothing like what you see on CNN or read about in the New York Times. This unforgettable story about combat, friendship, fear, and a soldier’s commitment to his country peels back the curtain on the realities of war in a story all Americans should read.

Sold by 4i's Books & More: Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Image of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

HarperCollins
Show/hide full description or See full details

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark is a timeless collection of chillingly scary tales and legends, in which folklorist Alvin Schwartz offers up some of the most alarming tales of horror, dark revenge, and supernatural events of all time.

In this paperback edition, Stephen Gammell’s artwork from the original Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark appears in all its spooky glory. Read if you dare!

And don't miss More Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and Scary Stories 3!

Sold by Kids Booksellers: Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Image of Ghosts!:  Ghostly Tales from Folklore  (An I Can Read Book, Level 2)

Ghosts!: Ghostly Tales from Folklore (An I Can Read Book, Level 2)

HarperCollins
Show/hide full description or See full details
Do you believe in ghosts?
Some people do . . .

These spooky -- and funny -- tales about singing ghosts, toast-eating ghosts, and ghosts no one even guesses are sure to send shivers up and down your spine.

Why not retell them to your friends and see if you can make their spines tingle, too?

Sold by Fifty Third Street Books: Usually ships in 1-2 business days